Custom Search


Funny Jokes about England and World Cup 2018 Fail
Bookmark and Share

Russia 2018 and Qatar 2022 win World Cup Bids

Qatar won the right to host the 2022 World Cup, defeating a bid by the United States in a vote by FIFA's executive committee Thursday.
Qatar will make history by hosting the first World Cup in the Middle East. Australia, South Korea and Japan were also bidding for the 2022 tournament.
FIFA also awarded Russia its first World Cup in a vote for the 2018 tournament host. Twenty-two FIFA executive committee members cast their votes by secret ballot in Zurich. The other contenders for 2018 were England, Spain-Portugal and Belgium-Netherlands.
FIFA approved an ambitious bid by Qatar that includes a plan to spend $4 billion on air-conditioned stadiums in a country where summer temperatures typically exceed 118 degrees.

Bookmark and Share