Custom Search


Prize Money for 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa

Prize money and club payments

The total prize money on offer for the tournament was confirmed by FIFA as $420 million, a 60 percent increase on the 2006 tournament. Before the tournament, each participating team would receive $1 million, for preparation costs. Once at the tournament, teams exiting at the group stage would receive $8 million. Thereafter, the prize money would be distributed as follows:
  • $9 million - Round of 16 
  • $18 million - Quarter Finals
  • $20 million - Semi -Finals 
  • $24 million - Runners Up 
  • $30 million - Winners 
In a first for the World Cup, there would also be payments made by FIFA to the domestic clubs of the players representing their national teams at the tournament. This would see a total of €26 million being paid to domestic clubs, amounting to just over €1,000 per player per day. 
This was the result of an agreement reached in 2008 between FIFA and European clubs to disband the G-14 group and drop their claims for compensation dating back to 2005 over the financial cost of injuries sustained to their players while on international duty.

Bookmark and Share

1 comment: